Skip to content

From Postnasal Drip to Praise

August 25, 2012

“For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.”  Romans 8:18

Thanks to ragweed and corn tassels, I woke up today with an itchy nose. My instinct was to whine, the way I usually do when allergies hit. And, wow, can I whine. With the best of them. But this morning, before giving in to the urge to whine and scratch, I thought of Joni Eareckson Tada.

Joni Tada produces a Christian radio show called Joni and Friends, and has done so for more than thirty years. I listened daily in college, and I caught a show recently on a drive to Illinois. Mrs. Tada was injured in a diving accident in 1967 and has been a quadriplegic confined to a wheelchair ever since. She has written more that 70 books and magazine articles, and her five-minute radio program has been a source of Christian inspiration to millions since 1982. And in those books and shows, she doesn’t spend her time whining.

As I thought of Mrs. Tada, I was struck afresh at all the blessings the Lord has given me, including the blessing of being able to scratch my own itches, and then I wondered why I was going to whine. Really, aren’t allergies a minor inconvenience? Isn’t the itchiness just a temporary problem? And if Mrs. Tada doesn’t spend her time whining about being confined to a wheelchair, who am I to whine about a drippy nose?

My mind then wandered beyond itchy noses and diving accidents to Christ and all He endured on my behalf to pay the penalty for my sins and to give me new life in Him. Crucifixion and separation from the Father! Wow. And I realized again the silliness of whining over temporal hardships. What temporal hardship can be compared to our glorious future given and guaranteed in Christ?

Maybe today you are dealing with some temporal hardship like allergies, or something far worse. If so, focus on Christ and the promises You have in Him for eternity. As you do, I am sure you will find yourself rejoicing anew in that living hope to which you have been born again.

 

NEWS YOU CAN USE

§God’s Word to You: A Summary of the Bible in 311 Words. The folks at LifeWay decided to attempt to summarize the grand narrative of Scripture in as few words as possible. In the end, they summarized the Bible in roughly 300 words. Read their summary and see if you would have summarized it the same way. Is there anything in their summary that causes you to hesitate? If so, what? I’d love to hear your comments. Read the summary at: http://thegospelcoalition.org/blogs/trevinwax/2012/08/14/gods-word-to-you-a-summary-of-the-bible-in-311-words/

§Study: Most Christians Seldom Share Their Faith. Eighty percent of regular protestant church attendees believe they have a Christian duty to share Christ with others, and seventy-five percent say they feel comfortable in their ability to share their faith effectively, but more than sixty percent have not shared their faith with another person in the past six months. What should we make of this? See if you agree with the author’s conclusions: http://technorati.com/lifestyle/article/study-most-christians-seldom-share-their/.

§Why No Archeological Evidence of the Exodus? This article confronts those critics who argue that the Exodus must not have occurred, as no (or little) archeological evidence has been discovered. Interesting reading: http://josiahconcept.org/2012/08/18/why-no-archelogical-evidence-of-the-exodus/.

§How to Miss the Point: A Guide to Dimwitted Discourse. I wish I had found this article back in college when I took Logic and Argumentation & Debate. It would have saved me a lot of time. Really, a wonderful read. Do yourself a favor and read this article: http://scgeis.blogspot.com/2012/08/how-to-miss-point-guide-to-dimwitted.html

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

